Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria Elect New Executive Members

At the recently concluded Annual General Meeting of the Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN), held on the 18th January, 2019 at the NAF Conference Centre, Abuja, it was concluded that the time had come for a new horizon and paradigm shift in the affairs of the association. The major highlights of the Annual General Meeting was the election and swearing in of newly elected officers as well as the swearing in of the Board of Trustees, and the acceptance speech of the Chairman, of the Board of Trustees. 

The newly elected officers who were duly sworn in, after taking their oath office are-

1. National President - Alhaji (Engr.) Sanusi Abdu Fari.

2. Deputy President - Alhaji Debo Ahmed

3. Secretary - Mr. Chidi Nnubia.

4. Asst. Secretary - Alhaji Mohammed Babanna

5. Treasurer - Alhaji Alanamu Ayo Balogun.

6. Fin. Secretary - Alhaji Adamu Umaru Ngelzarma.

7. PRO - Elder Chinedu Ukadike.

8. Auditor - Udah B. Udah

9. Legal Adviser - Barr. Ederigho Owonye.

10. Ex-Officio - Alhaji Ibrahim Buba Gayus.

11. Ex-Officio - Alhaji Haruna S. Kalo.

12. Ex-Officio - Omotadowa Omololu.

13. Ex-Officio - Prince Frank Ogoke.

14. Ex-Officio - Alhaji Tanko Yahaya Tama.

15. Ex-Officio - Mr. Fred Ufuah

16. Ex-Officio - Alhaji Umaru Saleh.

17. Ex-Officio - Alhaji Dahiru Garuba.

18. Ex-Officio (SA/Special Duties) - Princess Adeaga Oluyemisi.

19. Ex-Officio (SA/Technical Matters) - Barr. Adedibu Aderibigbe.

20. Ex-Officio (SA/Inter Depots Matters) - Mr. Durukwuaku Sylvester.

21. Ex-Officio (SA/PPMC Matters) - Ms. Ifeoma Nsiegbuna.

22. Chief of Staff - DanAsabe S. Kakanda.


1. Chief Obasi Lawson - Chairman.

Other members-

2. Alhaji Musa Felande

3. Alhaji Zarma Mustapha

4. Mr. Austin Erhabor

5. Barr. Tunde Adesanya

6. Chief Emmanuel Ihedigbo

7. Andrew Ashiga

8. Alhaji A. Y. Shaffa

9. Mr. Sunday Owuzo

10. Mr. Olaadura Joseph

11. Hon. Godwin Akaan

12. Alhaji Abbas Ukoro

13. Chief Godfrey Chukwunyere

14. Alhaji A. A. Rano

15. Prince Augustine Ayuk

In line with the 1997 IPMAN constitution, immediate past President, Chief Obasi Lawson and Secretary, Alhaji Hassan Kirmi are also IPMAN NEC members. During the course of the meeting, the new executives led by Alh. (Engr.) Sanusi Fari, pledged that there would be adequate, and free flow supply of petroleum products across the country during the elections and beyond. They also pledged their commitment to the effortless strides of Pres. Muhammadu Buhari in ensuring a vibrant oil and gas sector for the Nigerian economy. As it stands today, it has become obvious that these newly sworn executives shall continue to uphold the tenets of IPMAN as they shown an undeniable amount of cooperation to work for the ultimate good of the union. In his opening speech, the National President went the extra mile of thanking God, for making the AGM possible, and for the pronouncement of the Supreme Court which affirmed the 1997 constitution of IPMAN through its ruling of 14th December, 2018 as presented by Hon. Justice Centus Nweze in support of the lead judgment where he stated that the constitutive instrument to be used in determining Chief Obasi Lawson length of time in office is the constitution of IPMAN. He further reiterated the Article XI (VIII) of the 1997 constitution fixes the tenure of office of the National President of the association for a period of 3 years.

Therefore the tenure of Chief Obasi Lawson as IPMAN National President was brought to end following these pronouncements of the Supreme Court. As the former elected deputy president to Chief Obasi Lawson, Alh. Sanusi Fari has duly taken over as the new president of IPMAN in accordance with the article IV OF THE 1997 IPMAN constitution.

Post a Comment